Wednesday 13 October 2021

Nneka Cummins wins the Liverpool Philharmonic's 2021 Rushworth Composition Prize

Nneka Cummins
Nneka Cummins

The Liverpool Philharmonic has announced that Nneka Cummins is the winner of the 2021 Rushworth Composition Prize. The prize, issued in association with the Rushworth Foundation,  was established in 2015 is open to a North West based composer aged 18 and over who currently lives, works or were born in the North West of England (Merseyside, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Cumbria), or a registered student at a Northwest-based Higher Education institution.

Nneka Cummins, who is from Liverpool, is a composer and music producer who is currently studying composition at Masters level at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance. Prior to Trinity Laban, they were a solicitor and hold a first-class undergraduate degree in Law from Durham University. 

The prize provides them with a cash prize of £1,000, made possible through the support of the Rushworth Foundation, a year’s complimentary membership of the Ivors Academy, plus the ability to part in a programme of workshops, masterclasses and mentoring sessions from composers, performers, conductors and other industry professionals associated with Liverpool Philharmonic. The year will culminate in  them writing a new work for performance by Ensemble 10/10, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s new music group, which will be premiered in Autumn 2022.

Nneka Cummins’s piece Blend was performed by an ensemble from Chineke! in the Cheltenham Music Festival 2021 and they will have new a work performed by Trinity Laban Symphonic Winds on 15 October 2021 at Blackheath Halls. Further details of the event from Trinity Laban's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment