Tuesday 19 July 2022

City of London Sinfonia's 2022/23 season - The World Rediscovered

City of London Sinfonia: The World Rediscovered - 2022/23 season

The City of London's (CLS) 2022/23 season includes a seven-part concert series, The World Rediscovered, in four different venues across London: Queen Elizabeth Hall at the Southbank Centre, Southwark Cathedral, Round Chapel Hackney and Village Underground in Shoreditch. The concert series will offer musical discoveries alongside fresh perspectives on well-loved chamber repertoire, and performances will feature introductions and improvisations from CLS players.

The series begins with Morning, Noon and Night, a sequence going from dawn to dusk and featuring John Luther AdamsSky With Endless Stars, alongside music by Haydn, Debussy and Britten's Nocturne with tenor Nick Pritchard, all under Luke Jerram’s touring Gaia artwork as part of Southwark Cathedral's Gaia Festival. Also in the cathedral as part of the festival will be Messiaen's Quartet for the End of Time.

At Village Underground, Schubert within reach will present a new take on Schubert's Octet. Played in the round in an informal setting, musicians will swap seats between each movement so that audience members can enjoy a more intimate experience of each of the different instrumental parts. Improvisations and introductions delivered by the musicians between each movement will enrich the musical experience.

Coming in from the cold features music by Kaija Saariaho, Per Norgard, Knut Nystedt, Pēteris Vasks, Arvo Pärt and Dobrinka Tabakova, intended to evoke the journey from Nordic cold towards more enveloping warmth embodied by the term hygge.

The Owl and the Nightingale is poet-laureate Simon Armitage's new translation of of the 900-rhyming-couplets-long Middle English debate poem between two arguing birds. The poem will be presented in the Queen Elizabeth Hall with music by Janequin, Couperin, Birtwistle, Pēteris Vasks and Huw Watkins.

Back at Village Underground, Dance with the Devil features music by Vivaldi, Locatelli, Piazzolla and Copland, plus traditional folk music, to create a whirlwind musical tour that explores how the diabolical has inspired composers past and present. Then Painting with Music is a kaleidoscopic concert curated by CLS’ Principal Clarinet, Katherine Spencer, and an invitation to enter a different kind of art gallery, where pictures are painted with sounds instead of colour with music by Cecilia McDowall, Jean Françaix, Telemann, Henri Tomasi, and André Caplet plus improvisations and composer and sound artist, Gawain Hewitt, will present a sonic guide book for each piece.

Choreographer, movement director and performer, Sarah Dowling, will be taking up the role of CLS' Artist-in-Residence for the 2022/23 season. Sarah Dowling is perhaps best known for her twenty year-long collaboration with ground-breaking immersive theatre specialists, Punchdrunk. She will work with the musicians to develop their skills and confidence in using movement to enhance story-telling and engagement with audiences.

Full details from the City of London Sinfonia's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month