Monday 27 June 2022

Michael Bakrnčev's Calm

Australian composer, Michael Bakrnčev's Calm – Trio for Flute, Violin and Harp, was written a wedding gift for Michael’s wife, and performed on their wedding day in 2017. Bakrnčev has now released the work as a single, performed by Heline Fay (Flute), Peter Voronov (Violin) and Mercedes Bralo (Harp).

Born in Melbourne in 1989, Bakrnčev's family had migrated from Macedonia in the 1960s and brought with them a rich tapestry of their country’s folklore, religion, traditional cuisine, dance and music. Following studies at the Queensland Conservatorium – Griffith University, Bakrnčev's music began to intertwine Macedonian folk music with modern classical music practice.

Calm is available online [LinkTree]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month