Monday 20 May 2024

Madeleine Mitchell and friends at Leighton House

Narcissus Hall, Leighton House. Image courtesy of Will Pryce.
Narcissus Hall, Leighton House. Image courtesy of Will Pryce.    

Violinist Madeleine Mitchell is joined by friends Kirsten Jensen (cello) and Julian Milford (piano) for a concert of piano trios at Leighton House on 11 June. The concert features music by Germaine Tailleferre, Delius and Dvorak. The evening offers the opportunity to explore the house and gallery, which reopened in 2022 following a major refurbishment of the 20th century additions to Lord Leighton's original house. 

Germaine Tailleferre wrote her Piano Trio in 1916/17, but it did not receive much attention and remained unpublished. She returned to it in 1978, replacing one movement and adding the finale. The new music perhaps edgier than the old but Tailleferre's friend from Les Six commented about her that in her music she "was always 20 years old". Delius' Légende (for violin and piano) and Romance (for cello and piano) both date from the 1890s when Delius was living in Paris, musically productive years after his studies in Leipzig.

Dvorak's Piano Trio no.3 in F minor is one of six works in the genre that Dvorak wrote (though the two earliest are lost). The work dates from 1883, a period when the composer had developed an international reputation and was working on his Symphony No. 7 which he premiered in London.

Full details from EventBrite.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month