Wednesday 17 January 2018

Alexandra Harwood and I Musicanti bring Sleep to Sunday afternoon at St John's

Alexandra Harwood
Alexandra Harwood
I Musicanti's Sunday afternoon concert series, Alexandra and the Russians, at St John's Smith Square continues on 21 January 2018 with a performance of Alexandra Harwood's Sleep which is based on the original Russian version of Snow White and focuses on her deep sleep. Harwood's work is written for string sextet, the same line-up as Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence which concludes the concert. I Musicanti, artistic director Leon Bosch, open with Anton Arensky's String Quartet no 2 in A minor, op 35, an homage to Tchaikovsky scored for the slightly unusual line-up of violin, viola and two cellos.

Our correspondent Ruth caught I Musicanti's September 2017 concert in this series, you can read her review on this blog. The series Alexandra and the Russians concludes on Sunday 3 June and features Prokofiev’s quintet, Glinka’s septet, Dmitri Smirnov’s Dialogues in the Dark and a final reflection on a Russian folktale by Alexandra Harwood.

Full details from the St John's Smith Square website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month