Tuesday 28 August 2018

Ten Debussys at York Late Music

JAmes Willshire
James Willshire
York Late Music is a concert series which has been running in York for over 20 years, presenting informal concerts at York Unitarian Chapel. This year the theme of the series is 'Looking forward, looking back', and on 1 September 2018 pianist James Willshire will be presenting his Ten Debussys project, which includes ten premieres with each piece quoting a Debussy piano piece and then developing this into the composer's own sound world. Composers in the project include Errollyn Wallen, Robin Holloway, Lynne Plowman, Jia Chai and Ailís Ní Ríain.

The concert is the climax of Piano Day on 1 September 2018, when there will be lunchtime and afternoon concerts featuring music by Ligeti, Chopin, Richard Rodney Bennett,Steve Crowther, anthony Adams performed by Kate Lodge.

Readers of this blog may remember that in February 2018, James Willshire accompanied viola player Rosalind Ventris in a programme of contemporary music for viola at Cheltenham Music Society, including the premiere of my suite for viola and piano.

Each evening concert at York Late Music features a pre-concert interview and questions with a featured composer and/or performer, giving audiences the chance to engage directly with artists over a glass of complimentary wine/juice.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month