Thursday 1 November 2018

100th anniversary of Polish independence

Paweł Szymański, photo: Marek Suchecki / Ruch Muzyczny / ForumPaweł Szymański, photo: Marek Suchecki / Ruch Muzyczny / Forum
Paweł Szymański, photo: Marek Suchecki / Ruch Muzyczny / Forum
1918 marks a number of other significant anniversaries, and on 2 November 2018 the BBC Symphony Orchestra will be marking the 100th anniversary of Polish independence with a concert at the Barbican.

Conducted by Michał Nesterowicz, the orchestra will give the premiere of Fourteen Points, a new work by Paweł Szymański inspired by Woodrow Wilson's Fourteen Points, the President’s famous statement of principles for peace following World War Im which contributed to the foundation of the modern state of Poland. 

In the piece, Szymański reflects not just on Polish Independence, but also on President Wilson’s vision of peace and stability for Europe, almost unimaginable after the war in 1918. Szymański will not be drawn on whether there is direct reference to Wilson’s Fourteen Points in the music, but invites people to be free in how they interpret his music.

The programme is completed by Paderewski’s Piano Concerto, with Polish-Canadian pianist Janina Fialkowska as soloist, Elgar’s symphonic prelude Polonia (dedicated to composer and statesman Paderewski) and Lutosławski’s First Symphony.

Fourteen Points was co-commissioned for this special event by BBC Symphony Orchestra and the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as a part of the Polska Music programme and POLSKA 100, the international cultural programme celebrating the centenary of Poland regaining independence. Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual programme NIEPODLEGŁA 2017–2021.

Full details from the BBC Symphony Orchestra website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month