Monday 18 November 2019

In place and time: Britten and TS Eliot

Benjamin Britten, TS Eliot
Benjamin Britten, TS Eliot
On Wednesday 20 November 2019, the City of London Sinfonia (CLS) is marking the 90th anniversary of the publishers Faber & Faber with an event at Southwark Cathedral which combines the music of Benjamin Britten with the words of TS Eliot.

Violinist Alexandra Wood directs the City of London Sinfonia in Britten's Canticle V (The Death of St Narcissus), which sets a text by TS Eliot, sung by tenor Joshua Ellicott, Britten's Serenade for tenor, horn and strings, with Ellicott and horn-player Stephen Stirling, and the Variations on a theme of Frank Bridge. And there is poetry by TS Eliot, including Ash Wednesday and Little Gidding from the Four Quartets.

Eliot was a founding member of Faber & Faber in 1929, whilst Britten was instrumental in the founding of Faber & Faber's sister company Faber Music in 1965. Britten only turned to setting Eliot quite late in life, using texts by Eliot for Canticle IV: "The Journey of the Magi", Op. 86, in 1971, and Canticle V: "The Death of Saint Narcissus", Op. 89 in 1974.

The concert at Southwark Cathedral is one of CLS's informal experiences concerts, with audience members free to relax on cushions and roam the cathedral during the performance.

Full details from the CLS website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month