Friday 20 March 2020

Jonathan Biss's Beethoven - on-line and at home

Jonathan Biss - Beethoven: The COmplete Sonatas
Pianist Jonathan Biss has completed his traversal of the Beethoven piano sonatas and his recordings, Beethoven: The Complete Piano Sonatas is released on Orchid Classics today. 

Unfortunately, live celebrations have been curtailed by the current emergency. Instead, Biss will be live-streaming a recital on Thursday 26 March 2020 from the 92nd Street Y, New York at 7.30pm local time (full details from the venue's website). Biss will be performing Beethoven's final three piano sonatas.

If you want to learn more about the sonatas, then Biss has produced a complete set of 32 lectures, one on each of the sonatas. There are available on-line, via Coursera, and Biss also produced a book, Beethoven's Shadow which in 2011 became the first Amazon Kindle Single to be written by a classical musician.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month