Monday 10 May 2021

London Mozart Players' Spotlight On:

London Mozart Players - Spotlight On;
London Mozart Players is returning to live concerts with a series, Spotlight On: which focuses on young artists. Over four concerts in June and October, at Fairfield Halls and Cadogan Hall, the orchestra will be joined by cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason, saxophonist Jess Gillam, pianist Isata Kanneh-Mason and violinist Leia Zhu.

On 4 June 2021, Sheku Kanneh-Mason joins the orchestra for a concert which opens Fairfield Halls live concert season this year including Dvorak's Cello Concerto alongside music by Mendelssohn conducted by Jaime Martin. Jess Gilliam and the orchestra will be at Fairfield Halls on 24 June, for a concert conducted by Jonathan Bloxham which pairs Michael Nyman's contemporary saxophone concerto, Where the Bee dances, with Glazunov's Saxophone Concerto which was written in 1934 and was the composer's final work.

On 26 June 2021, Isata Kanneh-Mason performs Mendelssohn's Piano Concerto No. 1 with the orchestra at Cadogan Hall in a programme which includes Beethoven's Symphony No. 2. The concert is conducted by Stephanie Childress, making her debut with the orchestra. The final concert in the series is on 9 October 2021 at Fairfield Halls when Leia Zhu performs Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto conducted by Gerard Korsten, alongside Beethoven's Symphony No. 8.

All the concerts will be filmed and will be available on-line. As part of the orchestra's 100k Challenge, aiming to reach at least 100,000 children and young people in 2021 , each concerto performance will be filmed and will be made available free to schools across the country with specially designed 'listening guides', targeted at different age groups from 4-18.

Full details from the orchestra's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month