Thursday 13 August 2015

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra on a roll

Kirill Karabits
Kirill Karabits
Kirill Karabits has signed a new contract and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra (BSO) is very much on a roll (John Allison in his review of their recent Prom described Karabits and the BSO as 'one of this country's finest orchestral partnerships'). 

Headline concerts in 2015/16 include a concert performance of Richard Strauss's Salome which opens the season with Karabits conducting and Lise Lindstrom in the title role, and Kim Begley and Birgit Remmert as Herod and Herodias. During the season Karabits will also be conducting Mahler's first symphony, and Elgar's Enigma Variations which will be paired with James MacMillan's Little Mass. Karabits' edition of CPE Bach's St John Passion premiered last year, and the new season will feature Karabits conducting music by Haydn, Mozart and JS Bach, and Reinhardt Goebel conducting Mozart and JC Bach, including a suite from Amadis de Gaule. Sibelius’ 150th birthday year is being celebrated with Kirill Karabits conducting the composer’s last three work, Symphony No. 7, Tapiola and Tempest Suite. Karabits and the orchestra will also be releasing the final instalment of its Prokofiev symphony cycle on Onyx Classics.

German violinist Augustin Hadelich is Artist-in-Residence for the new season, giving three concerts as well as workshops and masterclasses, with performances of concertos by Sibelius and Tchaikovsky as well as joining members of BSO for chamber music by Mozart and Mendelssohn.

Kokoro, the BSO’s contemporary music ensemble, will be the resident ensemble at Bristol University’s International Composition Competition taking place over 2016-17. Kokoro will workshop a number of works submitted, from which three composers will be invited to write pieces for performance in spring 2017. This season sees the final year of composer Hywel Davies' three-year residency with Kokoro, with the premiere of a new dramatic scena for two singers and Kokoro.

The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra is 120 years old and is in fact unique in the UK, being the only professional orchestra not based in a city. You can catch their performance at Monday night's Prom (10 August 2015) with Prokofiev's Symphony No. 5 and Korngold's Violin Concerto (with Nicola Benedetti) on the BBC Proms website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month