Monday 14 May 2018

Two City Music Foundation artists in an all Russian programme

All Russian programme - Cadogan Hall
Two City Music Foundation artists, Mihai Ritivoiu (piano) and Michael Foyle (violin), will perform concertos with the English Chamber Orchestra, conductor Michael Collins (himself making his conducting debut with the ECO) at the Cadogan Hall on 16 May 2018. In an all Russian programme, Michael Foyle will be the soloist in Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major and Mihai Ritivoiu will be the soloist in Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 2 in F major. The programme will be completed with Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 in F minor

Prokofiev's concerto was written in 1917 and premiered at the Paris Opera in 1923 with Serge Koussevitzky conducting the Paris Opera Orchestra and violinist Marcel Darrieux. Shostakovich's concerto was composed in 1956 for his son, Maxim's 19th birthday and Maxim premiered the piece during his graduation from the Moscow Conservatory.

Romanian pianist Mihai Ritivoiu won the Dinu Lipatti National Competition in Bucharest in 2010 and was awarded the Gold Medal in the Beethoven Piano Society of Europe Intercollegiate Competition in 2016. Michael Foyle won the 2016 Netherlands Violin Competition and his performance of Szymanowski’s Violin Concerto No. 1 with the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra led to an immediate invitation to give his debut recital at The Concertgebouw, Amsterdam.

Full details from the Cadogan Hall website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month