Tuesday 23 October 2018


Image (c) Andrew Rafferty
A new Welsh contemporary classical music ensemble, UPROAR, is starting with a bang with a programme of ten 5 minute works by ten Welsh composers. UPROAR's (10x10) will showcase a a cross section of composers with a wide range of experience - from those at the start of their careers to mature established composers - Andrew Lewis, Sarah Lianne Lewis, John Metcalf, Carlijn Metselaar, Gareth Moorcraft, Maja Palser, Michael Parkin, Lynne Plowman, Steph Power, Guto Puw. The programme debuts on 26 October 2018 at the Chapter Arts Centre in Cardiff and further performances are planned in February 2019 at the Bangor Music Festival.

UPROAR was founded by artistic director Michael Rafferty and has its roots in the musicians who performed together in Music Theatre Wales over a 25 year period under Michael Rafferty’s direction, with the ensemble consisting of solo players. Flexible in size, with up to around twenty musicians (there are 12 musicians for the first project), and collaborative in its approach, UPROAR will create multidisciplinary projects with dance, theatre, visual arts, film and live electronics as well as performing concerts in diverse performing spaces.

Further details from the UPROAR website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month