Monday 3 February 2020

LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme 2020

Colin Matthews with composers from a previous LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme
Colin Matthews with composers from a previous
LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme
The London Symphony Orchestra (LSO) has announced the six composers who will take part in the 2020 Panufnik Composers Scheme, Stef Conner, Christian Drew, Patrick John Jones, Emma-Kate Matthews, Chris McCormack, and Alex Paxton.

The six will be guided by composer Colin Matthews with support from Christian Mason and LSO musicians, enabling the composers to experiment over time and develop their orchestral writing skills. Things culminate in a public workshop at LSO St Luke’s on 26 March 2020 where each of the composers' three-minute pieces are workshopped by the LSO conducted by principal guest conductor François-Xavier Roth. Following this, two of the composers will receive a commission from the LSO which will be premiered during the orchestra’s London season of concerts at the Barbican.

In addition to the Panufnik Composers Scheme, the LSO runs LSO Soundhub and LSO Jerwood Composer+ which provide mentoring and support not only in artistic and musical development, but also in the crucial practical skills required by composers as their careers progress.

Panufnik alumni commissioned for 2019/20 season were Emily Howard, Sophya Polevaya and James Hoyle, whose piece Thymiaterion receives its world premiere in a concert on 27 February 2020, conducted by Elim Chan; Panufnik alumna Elizabeth Ogonek’s All These Lighted Things (three little dances for orchestra) will also feature in this concert. Daniel Kidane, alumnus of Panufnik, Soundhub and Jerwood+ schemes, was commissioned for the first night of the BBC Proms 2019.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month