Wednesday 13 January 2021

All About Bach! - Only Stage's new on-line festival

Gabriel Prokofiev
Gabriel Prokofiev
The artist management company Only Stage has certainly been busy. Having recently announced a conducting competition, the company has also launched an on-line music programme. Entitled All About Bach!, it is a weekly series of recitals of Bach's music, sometimes given straight and sometimes Bach providing the inspiration for something new.

The series began last week with violinist Charlie Siem in music for unaccompanied violin (on YouTube) and Siem returns at the end of series (5/3/2021). To come we have cellist Luca Franzetti Cello Suites Nos. 2 & 3 (15/1/2021), pianist Jan Bartos in keyboard music (22/1/2021) and pianist Oliver Poole in the Goldberg Variations (12/2/2021).  

Different aural perspectives are provided by Massimo Mercelli flute and Nicoletta Sanzin harp in sonatas by JS Bach and CPE Bach (29/1/2021), Gabriel Prokofiev on electronics in a new version of The Musical Offering (5/2/2021), and Boris Andrianov cello and Dmitry Illarionov guitar in Cello Suite No. 5 (19/2/2021).

A particular highlight will be Maxim Rysanov on the viola in Cello Suite No. 1, plus two-part inventions with Barnabas Kelemen violin.

The concerts are available free on the OnlyStage Facebook page and YouTube channel. Full details from the Only Stage website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month