Tuesday 9 May 2023

Women of Note: Arch Sinfonia and Chloé Van Soeterstède in music by Lucy Armstrong, Ylva Skog and Emilie Mayer

Arch Sinfonia and Chloé Van Soeterstède
Arch Sinfonia and Chloé Van Soeterstède

Arch Sinfonia and conductor Chloé Van Soeterstède's Women of Note concert, the programme of which was announced on International Women's Day earlier this year, features music by three notable women composers performed at Cecil Sharp House on 29 June 2023.

The concert features the world premiere of Lucy Armstrong's Saxophone Concerto with soloist Gillian Blair plus Symphony No. 1 by the 19th century German composer Emilie Mayer (1812-1883) who studied with Carl Loewe, and Swedish composer Ylva Skog's They Call Her Love.

In an intriguing development of audience involvement, members of the audience vote to help shape the programme of the next concert. 

Further details from the Arch Sinfonia website, and tickets from the Cecil Sharp House website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month