Friday 12 April 2013

Kathleen Ferrier Awards 2013

Kathleen Ferrier as Orfeo, (c) Angus Macbean
On Friday 26 April 2013, the final of the 2013 Kathleen Ferrier Awards takes place at the Wigmore Hall, with the semi final being held on Tuesday 23 April. The Kathleen Ferrier Memorial Scholarship Fund was founded in 1953 in memory of the contralto who died at the age of 41. The first awards took place in 1956 and this year's competition will be the 58th. Recent winners have included Natalya Romaniw (2012), Kitty Whately (2011), Njabulo Madlala (2010), Sarah-Jane Brandon (2009), Ben Johnson (2008) and Katherine Broderick (2007). The list of semi-finalists, who take part in the  semi-finals on 23 April, includes Louise Alder, Johnny Herford, Ashley Riches and Anna Starushkevych.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month