Monday 7 October 2019

London Mozart Players revives the Mozart Memorial Prize

Jinah Shim and Howard Shelley
In the 1960s, the London Mozart Players’ Mozart Memorial Prize launched the careers of many talented young musicians including Imogen Cooper, Stephen Kovacevich and Benjamin Frith. The prize stopped being awarded in 1982, but in its 70th anniversary year London Mozart Players has revived and revitalised the prize, including a major new partnership with Kent International Piano Courses.

This year's prize winner is pianist Jinah Shim, who will join with the London Mozart Players at the prize-winners concert on Friday 1 November 2019 at the EM Forster Theatre in Tonbridge. As part of an all-Mozart programme Shim will play Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 21 (better known as the Elvira Madigan theme), alongside Eine kleine Nachtmusik and the Jupiter Symphony.

The Mozart Memorial Prize winner will be chosen annually from participants in the Kent International Piano Courses, which have been running for 30 years. Every prize winner will enjoy a year’s relationship with the LMP. This will involve mentoring from pianist and LMP Conductor Laureate Howard Shelley OBE, as well as lessons, guidance and career and repertoire advice from him, and invitations to concerts with Howard and LMP at venues around the UK. A presentation skills coaching session is also included in the prize package to help with delivery of performance and audience relationship skills. The centrepiece of the prize is the opportunity to perform a piano concerto with the orchestra at a professional concert, and the young winner will enjoy the title of ‘Pianist in association’ for the duration of their winning year.

Full details from the London Mozart Players' website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month