Wednesday 11 January 2023

The Philharmonia Orchestra's residency at Cromwell Place continues

Members of the Philharmonia at Cromwell Place (Photo Cromwell Place)
Members of the Philharmonia at Cromwell Place (Photo Cromwell Place)

Cromwell Place is a gallery and exhibition space based in five Grade II listed Victorian townhouses in South Kensington which includes the historic former studio of Sir John Lavery. This season, 2022/23, the Philharmonia Orchestra is in residence, presenting intimate chamber concerts in the gallery spaces. The second half of the residency begins later this month, and the orchestra is presenting four concerts at Cromwell Place between January and June 2023.

Emerging Art (28 January 2023) features Adrián Varela – violin, Jan Regulski – violin, Yukiko Ogura – viola, and Yaroslava Trofymchuk – cello in Dvorak's String Quartet No. 12 ‘American’ a work written whilst Dvorak was in the USA as director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York. The movements of the quartet will be interspersed with other pieces, an arrangement of the Spiritual Deep River by Harry T Burleigh, a student who introduced Dvorak to Spirituals, Mexican composer Diana Syrse's Pyramids in an Urban Landscape and Yshani Perinpanayagam's We Folk Disquieten, written for the concert.

During March, Cromwell Place focuses on women in art for Women’s History Month and to complement this on 11 March, four cellists, Richard Birchall, Alex Rolton, Ella Rundle and Karen Stephenson present a programme that mixes music by women composers with music associated with memorable female characters. So we have music by the 17th century Barbara Strozzi and two contemporary women, Roxanna Panufnik and Rosie Trentham, plus arrangements of the finale trio from Strauss' Der Rosenkavalier (which features the opera's three leading female characters), Henry Mancini's Moon River (memorably associated with Audrey Hepburn in the film Breakfast at Tiffany's) and music from Puccini's Madama Butterfly.

Art in Conflict (1 April 2023) features music by Ukrainian Borys Lyatoshynsky (1895-1968) and Russian Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975), composed during the Second World War, Both won the Stalin Prize, but also had their music denounced by the regime. The concert includes Lyatoshynsky's String Quartet No. 4 and Shostakovich's Piano Quintet. Then the final concert of the season on 1 June 2023, features Samuel Coles – flute, Yukiko Ogura – viola and Heidi Krutzen – harp in trios by Debussy, Bax and David Heath whose new trio was commissioned by flautist Samuel Coles with support from the Philharmonia, to complement the other pieces in the programme.

Full details from the Philharmonia's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month