Monday 18 September 2023

'Music lives and grows here' - a new name for Sage Gateshead, but creating music goes on in Gateshead and beyond

The Glasshouse International Centre for Music (Photo: Thomas Jackson Tynesight Photography)
The Glasshouse International Centre for Music (Photo: Thomas Jackson Tynesight Photography)

The Sage Gateshead has changed its name. The search for the new name, The Glasshouse International Centre for Music, arose not because of some daft idea of re-branding but simply because it was announced that an arena and conference centre would be built next door and would be called The Sage! The new name is inspired by the idea that 'Music lives and grows here'. The new identity was created with Manchester-based design team Music. Their process kicked off with conversations with people from across the North East.

Across last weekend, 16-17 September, The Glasshouse threw open its doors for two days of live music, building tours and music-making opportunities as part of the Open House weekend. The Glasshouse is also launching a new Music Pass, planting a seed to support future music lovers. For every baby born in the North East and Cumbria this year the charity will give families a voucher to be spent on their concerts, gigs, or classes. 

The centre is also taking live music to other parts of the region. The Glasshouse and the Royal Northern Sinfonia plan a season of nine concerts in Middlesbrough Town Hall and return to Carlisle for the first time since 2018 with a season of seven concerts.

The season in Middlesbrough opens with Jaume Santonja conducting Jörg Widmann, Beethoven and Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations with cellist Bruno Philippe, and other highlights include Dinis Sousa conducting Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 2 with soloist Sunwook Kim, and Peter Whelan conducting Messiah with the chorus of Royal Northern Sinfonia celebrating its 50th birthday, along with soloists Nardus Williams, Jess Dandy, Laurence Kilsby and Ashley Riches.

The Carlisle season kicks of with Eduardo Strausser conducting Beethoven and Mozart, then Dinis Sousa conducts a music by Robert and Clara Schumann including pianist Isata Kanneh-Mason in Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto.

Full details from The Glasshouse's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month