Friday 22 September 2023

Take four couples: EnSEmble26 presents Mendelssohn's Octet

EnSEmble26 is a collective of musicians based in the Sydenham area (SE 26) devoted to bringing live music to local areas. 

The ensemble is presenting a concert a St. John's Waterloo on Monday 25 September 2023 when Eleanor Meynell and Tom Norris from the ensemble will be joined by violinist Roman Simovic and violist Milena Simovic, Andrew and Julia Joyce from the Puertas Quartet (Principal Cello and Viola of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra ) and cellist Stephanie Tress and violinist William Newell from the Solem Quartet. In fact, the eight players comprise four married couples, which should make the dynamics of the group rather intriguing (fly on the wall time at rehearsals).

The concert is ending with Mendelssohn's Octet, which needs no introduction, and the first half will include Frank Bridge's Lament for two violas and Ravel's String Quartet.

Full details from the EnSEmble26 website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month