Thursday 14 July 2016

City Music Foundation young artists at the Wallace Collection

Great room - Wallace Collection
The City Music Foundation (CMF), which supports young artists, is presenting its artists in a week long residency at the Wallace Collection. Each lunch time from 25 to 29 July 2016, CMF artists will give a free recital in the great gallery at the Wallace Collection. The performers include the Kaleidescope Saxophone Quartet, guitarist Andrey Lebedev, violin & piano pairing Foyle-Stsura Duo, accordionist Bartosz Glowacki, and the Gildas Quartet who are joined by pianist Sholto Kynoch for Schumann's Piano Quintet.

Repertoire varies from MacMillan's Intercession and Bates' My First Scooter, to Arvo Pärt’s Pari Intervallo, Vaclav Trojan’s The Destroyed Cathedral and Astor Piazzolla’s Libertango, along with music by Grieg, Bach, Villa Lobos, and Haydn.

The City Music Foundation aims to equip outstanding musicians at the beginning of their careers with tools, skills, experience and networks they need to pursue music as a viable and rewarding livelihood. Those chosen to go onto the two year CMF Artists Programme receive mentoring through collaborations with city firms, professional development workshops, concerts and recitals in CMF seasons, access to promotional tools and artistic mentoring.

Full details from the Wallace Collection website

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month