Thursday 8 October 2020

Live and on-line: Sage Live 2020 launches with three concerts from the Royal Northern Sinfonia

Sage Gateshead (Photo Simon Burgon)
Sage Gateshead (Photo Simon Burgon)

The Sage Gateshead is returning to live performances with Sage Live 2020, a seven-week season of live concerts beginning 23 October 2020, with all performances being live-streamed. The concerts are being announced in waves, with the first three weeks of concerts now confirmed.

The Royal Northern Sinfonia will be giving three Friday evening concerts. Jessica Cottis conducts a programme which includes Jean Francaix's Concerto for Double Bass (with Philip Nelson) and work by the contemporary American composer Jessie Montgomery. Lars Vogt will be directing Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5 'Emperor' from the piano, alongside a new commission from Kristina Arakelyan. Chloe van Soeterstède conducts a programme which includes Tchaikovsky's Andante Cantabile (with cellist Steffan Morris) and Iain Farrington's chamber version of Sibelius' Symphony No.5. Other gigs include an appearance from she of the Northumbrian pipes, Katheryn Tickell.

Sage Gateshead also recently launched its 20/21 season of online activity, including Make Music – its weekly programme of adult music classes, its Young People’s Programme which usually offers musical activity for over 10,000 young people, and its artist development programme which supports musicians from across the region. This activity has now moved online to ensure that people across the North can continue their music making as we head into the winter months.

The centre has also launched an ambitious fundraising campaign to raise £3 million to enable it to continue working in the current climate.

Full details from the Sage Gateshead website

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month