Tuesday 7 September 2021

In Darkness Let Me Dwell

John Woolrich (Photo Chelsey Browne)
John Woolrich (Photo Chelsey Browne, originally in folke.life)
The composer John Woolrich is now resident in Folkstone and his latest project is aimed at bringing his music to the town. Over the last six years or so, Woolrich has been writing a series of short pieces for string quartet under the overall title of A Book of Inventions. To date he has composed 21 of them, and though some have been performed individually, his new project aims to bring them together.

Over two nights, 24 and 25 September 2021, under the title In Darkness Let Me Dwell, the Salome Quartet and the Benyounes Quartet will be playing nine of pieces from A Book of Inventions. But the project is not just about music, a group of visual artists from all over the world have been invited to create their response to the pieces, which will be displayed alongside the music.

In order to involve the young people of Folkestone, Woolrich has created nine new pieces for string ensemble suitable for young musicians. Each piece is aimed at a particular level, including parts for absolute beginners just playing open strings. The Sacconi Trust and Sounds Folkestone have been involved in organising sessions for local young players and the results will be unveiled in public for the first time in a Sacconi Quartet weekend of community music events on 23 October 2021.

Full details from the project website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month