Wednesday 9 February 2022

English Symphony Orchestra launchs its 2022 concert season

English Symphony Orchestra & Kenneth Woods
English Symphony Orchestra & Kenneth Woods

Having been extremely busy online, the English Symphony Orchestra has announced the launch of its 2022 concert season under conductor Kenneth Woods, with concerts during March to June 2022 in Hereford, Great Malvern, Cheltenham, Leominster, and Worcester.

One of the threads running through the season is Mozart, with three of the late symphonies plus the Adagio and Fugue. There are two concertos by Philip Sawyers, his Double Concerto with Daniel Rowland (viola) and Maja Bogdanovic (cello), and the Viola Concerto with Daniel Rowland. Whilst concerto lovers can also catch Zoe Beyers as the soloist in Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto

Other contemporary pieces include Bob Chilcott's St John Passion (written for Wells Cathedral in 2013), with Academia Musica Choir. Twentieth century music includes a couple of relative rarities, Poulenc's Sinfonietta, a lovely work that does not come out as often as it should, and Schulhoff's Suite for Chamber Orchestra. The Schulhoff features in a concert which also includes The Great Caruso, tenor Mark Milhofer's tribute to the great tenor.

Next week (18-22 February 2022), the orchestra's online season includes a concert that pairs Robert Saxton's The Resurrection of the Soldier with Philip Sawyers' Octet and Remembrance for Strings.

Full details from the English Chamber Orchestra's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month