Wednesday 20 March 2013

Reprint of classic book on British Light Music

British Light Music is a genre which seems to be disappearing except in a few brave areas. Many of the composers involved are not dealt with well by standard reference works. Now, Philip L Scowcroft's book British Light Music, a personal gallery of 20th century composers is being reprinted by Dance Books in a completely re-set edition. It contains biographical and musical essays on 30 major composers and more than 300 shorter entries on other composers. With entries on Eric Coates, Haydn Wood, Albert Ketelby, Alfred Reynolds Hubert Bath, Billy Mayerl, Richard Addinsell and many more. Ernest Tomlinson, doyen of living light music composers, contributes a thoughtful and challenging Foreword. There is a special pre-publication offer on the book £10 before April 30, or £15 afterwards. See the Dance Books website for further details.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month