Friday 4 September 2020

London Philharmonic Orchestra returns to the Royal Festival Hall with a live-streamed Autumn season

London Philharmonic Orchestra Autumn season 2020

The London Philharmonic Orchestra has announced a season of concerts at the Royal Festival Hall which will be filmed by Silent Studios and streamed live, each concert being free for the first seven days (and then available on Marquee TV). The 13-concert series begins on 30 September 2020 when Edward Gardner, principal conductor designate, conducts a programme of Jörg Widmann, Sibelius (orchestrated by Einojuhani Rautavaara) and Beethoven. Each concert will use an orchestra of 60 players, and the programming reflects the orchestra's original plans for its Autumn season.

Ten of the concerts continue the orchestra's Vision 2020 series, juxtaposing pivotal works of the 21st century with those composed a century and two centuries earlier. 

  • John Storgårds conducts Julian Anderson's Van Gogh Blue with music by Nielsen and Beethoven, 
  • Karina Canellakis's conducts Anna Clyne's Prince of Clouds with music by Richard Strauss and Beethoven
  • Jukka-Pekka Saraste conducts the UK premiere of Magnus Lindberg's Cello Concerto (with soloist Anssi Karttunen) with music by Sibelius, Ravel and Schubert
  • Thierry Fischer conducts Thomas Larcher's Ouroboros for cello and orchestra (with soloist Kristina Blaumane) with music by Reger, Schubert and Vivaldi
  • Hannu Lintu conducts Lotta Wennakoski's Verdigris with music by Penderecki, Sibelius and Schubert
  • Thomas Søndergård conduct's Anders Hillborg's Bach Materia with music by Prokofiev and Schubert, and Søndergård also conducts Jonathan Dove's Vadam et circuibo civitatem (for a cappella choir, with the London Philharmonic Choir), and music by Ravel, Prokofiev (with pianist Alexander Gavrylyuk) and Schubert
  • Vladimir Jurowski conducts the European premiere of Elena Kats-Chernin's Piano Concerto No. 3 (with soloist Tamara-Anna Cislowska), and Jurowski conducts the UK premiere of Brett Dean's The Players (with soloist, accordionist James Crabb), plus music by Stravinsky and Bach, and Jurowski returns for the final concert of the season with James Macmillan's Sinfonietta alongside Arthur Bliss' Rout, and music by Honegger, Spohr and Vivaldi. 

Other concerts include the pairing of Messiaen's Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum with Schoenberg's Verklärte Nacht, and a programme of Beethoven and the Chevalier de Saint-Georges.

 Full details from the orchestra's website.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month