Wednesday 24 March 2021

Connected Skies: six new works from composer Angela Elizabeth Slater debuting digitally

Angela Elizabeth Slater: Connected Skies

Composer Angela Elizabeth Slater set herself a challenge last year, to write six new works for solo instrument and voice, each lasting around ten minutes. The resulting pieces, for double bass, cello, flute, accordion, percussion and mezzo soprano are being debuted digitally as part of a series called Connected Skies. Each month from January 2021 to June 2021, Slater is releasing a filmed performance of one of the works, along with a blog about its creation and more. 

So far we have seen a double bass piece for Maggie Cox, a solo cello piece for Sarah Gait, and an accordion piece for Kamila Olas. To come are a new piece for flute with glissando head piece for Emma Coulthard, a percussion piece for Iris van den Bos, and a piece for mezzo-soprano Kameryn Leoung.

Slater did a Ph.D at Nottingham University and was selected as a 2020/21 Tanglewood Composition Fellow. She was the 2019 Mendelssohn Scholar which enabled her to study with Michael Gandolfi at the New England Conservatory. She was a 2017 Britten-Pears Young Artist through which Angela worked with Oliver Knussen, Colin Matthews and Michael Gandolfi, where she developed Soaring in Stasis which received its premiere at 2018 Aldeburgh Festival.

Further details from Angela Elizabeth Slater's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month