Wednesday 21 August 2013

Wigmore Hall / Kohn Foundation International Song Competition

2013 Wigmore Hall / Kohn Foundation International Song Competition
The Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation International Song Competition returns to the Wigmore Hall this year. The biennial event has been running since 1997 and this years competition starts on 30 August with the first of a series of preliminary public rounds. The four singers chosen for the final will battle it out on 3 September at Wigmore Hall.

The competition requires singers to perform in at least three languages and Schubert Lieder are central to the competition. 24 singers take part in the preliminary rounds on 30 & 31 August with each candidate performing a 15 minute programme They are judged by their performance of a compulsory Schubert Lied chosen from a set list, a freely chosen French language song and one English language song b a British-born composer. 12 singers will reach the semi-final on 1 September, and each is expected to sing at least two Schubert lieder in a 20 minute programme.  The four finalists perform on 3 September, with each giving a 30 minute recital.

This year, the jury consists of John Gilhooly, Pieter Alferink, Barbara Bonney, Robert Gambill, Graham Johnson, Sir Ralph Kohn (non-voting), Ann Murray, Christoph Pregardien and Asadour Santourian. Quite a high powered bunch indeed.

The 2011 winners were Dominik Koninger, Stuart Jackson and Dorottya Lang, with Timothy End and Jonathan Ware as the join winners of the Pianist's Prize and Jonathan McGovern and Timothy End as winners of the Jean Meikle Prize for a Duo. This year there is an extra prize, the Richard Tauber Prize being given for the best interpretation of Schubert Lieder.

Further information from the Wigmore Hall website.

Elsewhere on this blog:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month