Monday 25 April 2016

Mindstream - O/MODERNT returns to Kings Place

Hugo Ticciati
Hugo Ticciati
British violinist Hugo Ticciati brings his Swedish contemporary music ensemble O/MODERNT to Kings Place on Wednesday 27 April 2016 for a programme entitled Mindstream. They will be performing music which is designed to take the listener on a journey 'inspired by the hope to live in the moment, as the flow of music carries us out into the waters of the present impermanent'. The ensemble is conducted by David Lundblad and will be joined by percussionist Evelyn Glennie.

The programme includes the UK premiere of Mindstream, a double concerto for violin, marimba/vibraphone and orchestra by the composer and jazz-pianist Jill Jarman. Also in the programme is Icelandic composer Askell Masson's Prim Orchestral Improvisation,  and the intriguingly named Having Never Written a Note for Percussion by American composer James Tenney as well as Tchaikovsky's Serenade.

Full information from the Kings Place website.

'We should learn how to look at life as streams of being, and not as separate entities. You of this moment are no longer you of a minute ago. There is no permanent entity within us, there is only a stream of being.'
Thich Nhat Hanh Buddhist monk, teacher, writer, peace campaigner

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month