Wednesday 4 May 2016

Soft stillness at the Hoddinott Hall

Madeleine Mitchell
Madeleine Mitchell
On 12 May 2016 (at 2pm) the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, conductor Edwin Outwater, will be giving a contemporary programme at the Hoddinott Hall, Cardiff, as part of the 2016 Vale of Glamorgan Festival. The concert includes the UK premiere of Sala by Latvian composer Peteris Vasks (who is 70 this year), and the world premiere of Ghyll by Mark David Boden; the orchestra will be joined by violinist Madeleine Mitchell for the Violin Concerto - Soft Stillness by Guto Puw.

Puw's violin concerto was premiered in 2014 by Madeleine Mitchell with the Orchestra of the Swan at the Bangor New Music Festival. The work is based on lines from Shakespeare's play The Merchant of Venice, lines which were also used by RVW for his Serenade to Music.

Full information from the Vale of Glamorgan Festival website. The festival runs from 10  to 20 May 2016 with concerts celebrating the 70th birthdays of Peteris Vasks and John Metcalf, and the 80th birthday of Steve Reich. For the final concert, on 20 May 2016 at the Hoddinott Hall, the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, conductor Edwin Outwater, perform John Metcalf's Cello Symphony with cellist Alice Neary, and give the world premiere of Peteris Vasks's Viola Concerto with viola player Maxim Rysanov.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month