Wednesday 25 May 2016

Villiers Quartet new works competition

The Villiers Quartet
The Villiers Quartet
The new works competition run by the Villiers Quartet attracted some 114 entries from composers across 34 countries. The quartet reduced the list to six, and a public vote online came up with the three finalists. These three works will be played by the Villiers Quartet in a public recital in the Jacqueline Du Pre Music Building, Oxford University on 27 May 2016 at 7pm, and the audience will vote for a winner. The three finalists are:
  • Fantasy by Andrew Guo (USA), a 17 year-old young man from Chicago, Illinois
  • String Quartet No. 1 'from an exhibition of Australian woodcuts' by Ian Munro (Australia), an established composer and member of the Australia Ensemble
  • Planctus by Kristina Wolfe (USA/Denmark), sound artist, PhD candidate at Brown University

Further information and tickets from the event website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month