Sunday 22 May 2016

Welcoming Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla - the CBSO's 2016-17 season

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla
The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra's 2016-17 season arouses more than usual interest because it is the first in which their new music director, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla is in charge. And there is plenty of interest, including three complete operas and visits from conductors such as Edward Gardner, Nicholas Collon, Aleksandr Markovic and the return of former chief conductor Andris Nelsons.

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla's opening concert sees her conducting Hans Abrahamson's let me tell you with soprano Barbara Hannigan, alongside Mozart and Tchaikovsky, and her other concerts include Mahler's Symphony No. 1 alongside the UK premiere of Fires by fellow Lithuanian Raminta Serksnyte, Beethoven's Symphony No. 5, and Rachmaninov's Third Symphony plus Mieczyslaw Weinberg's The Golden Key:Suite No. 4 (another UK premiere) and Copland's Clarinet Concerto, and Tippett's Piano Concerto with Stephen Osborne plus Stravinsky's Petrushka. Gražinytė-Tyla finishes the season with a concert performance of Mozart's Idomeneo with a highly attractive cast including Christoph Strehl as Idomeneo, Ben Johnson as Idamante, Sophie Bevan as Ilia and Joyce El-Khoury as Elettra.

Other delights in the season include Gilbert and Sullivan's Yeomen of the Guard conducted by John Wilson with a cast including Sarah Fox, Heather Shipp, Benjamin Hulett, Simon Butteriss and Sir Thomas Allen, with University of Birmingham Voices, Richard Egarr conducting Handel's Semele with Mhairi Lawson in the title roles, plus Louise Alder, Barbara Kozelj, Tim Mead, Andrew Tortise and Christopher Purves, Cristian Macelaru conducts a complete performance of Bartok's ballet The Wooden Prince.

Edward Gardner is conducting a number of concerts, including Walton's Second Symphony, an all Tchaikovsky programme for the CBSO Benevolent Fund Concert, John Adams' Harmonium plus Beethoven's Violin Concerto with James Ehnes, and Mahler's Symphony No. 5. Whilst Nicholas Collon will be conducting Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique, Elgar's The Spirit of England, Korngold's Violin Concerto with Vilde Frang, Holst's The Planets plus Savitri with Sarah Connolly, and Schubert's Symphony No. 8 paired with Sibelius' Symphony No. 7 and Schumann's Konzertstuck for Four Horns.

Alekasandr Markovic, the new music director of Opera North, will be conducting Janacek's Taras Bulba, and a Magic of Vienna concert with music by Strauss, Kreisler and Waldteufel, with violinist Jack Liebeck. Former CBSO music director Andris Nelsons will be returning to conduct Bruckner's Symphony No. 4. Charles Hazlewood will be conducting a concert where the British Paraorchestra will be joined by members of the CBSO for a programming including music by Corelli and Lloyd Coleman.

Full information from the CBSO website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month