Wednesday 9 November 2016

40 years of Bach cantatas in the City

On Friday 11 November 2016, the City Bach Cantata Series celebrates its 40th anniversary with a lunchtime concert at the church of St Mary at Hill, EC3R 8EE, with a performance of Bach's cantatas BWV 61 & 61 Nun komm der Heiden Heiland. The quartet of singers is Nicola Corbishley, Patricia Hammond, Christopher Brown, Cheyney Kent, with the musicians directed from the violin by Hazel Brooks.

The series started in 1976 when Peter Lea-Cox was appointed organist of St. Mary-at-Hill in the City.Peter decided to use the church to give his students at the Royal Academy of Musc the opportunity to perform Bach cantatas, preparing the editions himself. The series began on 11 November 1976 with a performance of BWV 38, Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir, and many of the participants have gone on to become leading musical figures. Peter Lea-Cox complete a full cycle of Bach's cantatas in 1997.

Full details from the City Bach Collective website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month