Tuesday 5 May 2015

Notes to a new Government

Notes to a new government
The weekend after polling day for the general election of 2015, the London Sinfonietta will be presenting Notes to a new Government at the Queen Elizabeth Hall on 9 May 2015. Bringing together 16 composers to consider current society, and the future society they hope to influence. The London Sinfonietta will be conducted by Andrew Gourlay and will be joined by presenter Samira Ahmed, and singers Juliet Fraser and Cleveland Watkiss.

Composers include Kerry Andrew, Jordan Hunt, Gavin Higgins, Benjamin Oliver and Luke Wright, Emma-Ruth Richards, Michael Finissey, Emily Hall, HEJIRA, Gwynneth Herbert, Matthew Herbert, Shabaka Hutchings, Colin Matthews and Jackie Kay, Philip Venables and David Hoyle, Ian Vine, John Woolrich and Jason Yarde. As you can see, the composers come from varied backgrounds and so it should be a lively evening especially as topics to be considered and performed about include the NHS, the impact of the bedroom tax, sex trafficking, education and dumbing down, climate change and the value of the arts, to name but a few.

Further information from the London Sinfonietta's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month