Wednesday 6 May 2015

Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards

RPS Awards
The 2015 Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards were announced last night (5 May 2015), recognising outstanding musical achievement in 2014. The awards were presented by Dame Felicity Lott and Sir Antonio Pappano made the keynote speech. Antonio Pappano was also presented with the Royal Philharmonic Society's Gold Medal. The awards were presented in association with BBC Radio 3 and a special awards programme will be broadcast on Monday 11 May at 7.30pm.

Baritone Christian Gerhaher received the Singer Award, with the judges recognising his recitals at Wigmore Hall. Percussionist Colin Currie received the Instrumentalist Award, with his Metal, Wood, Skin festival at the South Bank Centre receiving praise. Conductor Andris Nelson was the recipient of the Conductor Award notably for his work with the CBSO. Soprano Mary Bevan received the Young Artists Award with the judges noting her 'great vocal beauty and a growing maturity and versatility'.

Oxford Lieder Festival received the Chamber Music and Song Award. Last year's festival was notable for its performance of all of Schubert's songs. Compositions rewarded included Graham Fitkin's Distil for Chamber-Scale Composition, and Hans Abrahamson's orchestral song cycle (with a text by Paul Griffiths) Let me tell you for Large-Scale Composition. Graham Fitkin's Distil was premiered at the 2014 Cheltenham Festival by the Smith Quartet and percussionist Joby Burgess, whilst Hans Abrahamson's work was premiered by soprano Barbara Hannigan and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

English National Opera received the Opera and Music Theatre Award with the judges recognising that the company's 'consistently outstanding work, illustrates this company’s adventurous and challenging approach to making opera. Across a range of repertoire, from Rodelinda and The Girl of the Golden West to Benvenuto Cellini and The Thebans, the latter under the inspirational musical leadership of Ed Gardner, ENO’s artistic vibrancy continues to shine.'

You can read the full list of award winners at the awards website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month