Tuesday 11 January 2022

A joy in complexity of texture and rhythm: Sinfonietta Riga in four recent works written for them by Latvian composers

Ruta Paidere, Andris Dzenītis, Platons Buravickis, Linda Leimane; Aigars Raumanis, Sinfonietta Riga, Normunds Šnē; SKANI

Ruta Paidere, Andris Dzenītis, Platons Buravickis, Linda Leimane; Aigars Raumanis, Sinfonietta Riga, Normunds Šnē; SKANI

Reviewed by Robert Hugill on 11 January 2022 Star rating: 4.0 (★★★★)
Four recent works by Latvian composers written for Sinfonietta Riga and displaying the full range of brilliance and complexity in their orchestral writing

Sinfonietta Riga is a relatively young ensemble, founded in Latvia in 2006. On this disc from the Latvian label Skani, Sinfonietta Riga and conductor Normunds Šnē perform four works written for the ensemble by Latvian composers, Ruta Paidere’s Tempera, Andris Dzenītis' Euphoria, Platons Buravickis' The Temperature of Plastics with saxophonist Aigars Raumanis and Linda Leimane’s Ray-Bows.

For much of the 20th and 21st centuries, music in the Baltic countries has remained intimately intertwined with the complexities of history. The composers represented on this disc are amongst the generations that grew up able to work freely, without persecution by totalitarian regimes or clashes with even older political ideologies. In fact, two of the composers on the disc were born around the time that Latvia regained its independence. Not that musical life was all sweetness and light. Political ideology in the newly independent Latvia saw the profession of composer as almost completely superfluous and unnecessary, official rhetoric, said the country already had one composer – as well as one famous pianist, one award-winning violinist, and so on – so it did not need any more. For this reason, many of the composers from these early generations found themselves needing to live and work elsewhere. 

All four pieces on the disc are a world away from the minimalism and spirituality embraced by Latvian composers such as Rihards Dubra. All four works here celebrate a sort of maximalism and a joy in complexity of texture and rhythm, along with technical challenge. 

The disc begins with a work by Andris Dzenītis (born 1978). His Euphoria, is an overture for chamber orchestra written in 2017 in honour of the teacher and composer Pēteris Plakidis (1947-2017). It is a six minute work full of rhythm and energy, colour and movement with a sense of constant motion and multiple moving parts.

Platons Buravickis' concerto The Temperature of Plastics was written for saxophonist Aigars Raumanis and represents a challenge both to performer and listener. The solo part uses a number of extended techniques in the instrument, as well as being a challenge to stamina as well. There is an uncompromising element to Buravickis' music here, and an anger. The title of the concerto seems to refer to the ongoing challenge of environmental pollution, but Buravickis' response is anything but New Age. From the very beginning the orchestral writing is full of colour, movement and energy with multilayered writing ensuring that there is a great deal going on. The spiky writing for the soloist only goes to emphasize the sense of anger, and the work rises at the end to a profoundly intense climax. This piece, at over 20 minutes long, is a terrific tour de force. 

Linda Leimane's Ray-Bows seems to have been written at the same time as Leimane was composer-in-residence with the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra. It begins with fast, mobile layers of music, lots of colours creating a sense of dramatic narrative with some truly vivid moments. Again, this is an orchestral tour de force.

Ruth Paidere's Tempera takes a very different approach, yet is in its way no less complex. Written for string orchestra, the work at first seems placidly sustained, but Paidere's use of constantly shifting microtones brings an eerie sense of textures in constant, uneasy flux.

Andris Dzenītis (born 1978) Euphoria (2017) [6:07]
Platons Buravickis (born 1989) The Temperature of Plastics (2019) [21:51]
Linda Leimane (born 1989) Ray-Bows (2019) [17:58]
Ruta Paidere (born 1977) Tempera (2012) [14:32]
Aigars Raumanis (saxophone)
Sinfonietta Riga
Normunds Šnē (conductor)
Recorded at Riga Recording Studio, July 2021
SKANI 130 1CD [60:42]

Available from Amazon.

Never miss out on future posts by following us

The blog is free, but I'd be delighted if you were to show your appreciation by buying me a coffee.

Elsewhere on this blog

  • We live in a world where nothing has been left untouched by humanity: composer Jan-Peter de Graaff chats about the inspirations for his new cello concerto - interview
  • Colour and movement: Patrick Allies and Siglo de Oro transport us to 17th century New Spain - concert review
  • Full of the joy of Christmas: music by Heinrich Schütz and his contemporaries from Arcangelo at Wigmore Hall - concert review
  • Hymns to the Virgin: the Tallis Scholars at St John's Smith Square's Christmas Festival - concert review
  • The Other ErlkingSongs and Ballads of Carl Loewe, from Nicholas Mogg and Jâms Coleman - record review
  • Focused intensity and sheer joyful elan: John Butt and Dunedin Consort perform Handel's Messiah at Wigmore Hall  - concert review
  • Music and meaning: Handel's Messiah from Choir of Jesus College, Cambridge and Britten Sinfonia with conductor David Watkin at the Barbican - concert review
  • Something more raw, that goes back to the origins of the stories: I chat to composer Glen Gabriel about his new album, Norse Mythology - my interview
  • The comfort of the familiar mixed with the intriguing, the lesser known and the downright unfamiliar: The Sixteen at Christmas - concert review
  • Poetic imagination: Andri Björn Róbertsson and Ástríður Alda Sigurðardóttir in songs by Árni Thorsteinson & Robert Schumann - record review
  • Bird Portraits: Edward Cowie's amazing musical exploration of birdlife - record review
  • Meyerbeer's first opera, written when he was just 21, is finally available in a modern recording that enables us to begin to appreciate what we've been missing - record review
  • Home

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts this month